Where Am I?

So, first of all, I apologize for what must seem like my disappearance over these last few weeks. Or the last week, if you’ve been satisfied and entertained by my previously scheduled posts. Though you might have been wondering along with everyone else where on earth they went this week.

Don’t worry, I’m not quitting. This isn’t some “doom and gloom” post about how hard life is and how I’d rather be doing something else all day. I haven’t run off with all the Patreon funds I’ve been given to start a new life in some other country. No, instead the explanation for my absence has been much simpler.

I moved.

Yes, as promised—and as was contributing to my stress levels for so long—the move finally happened. My apartment of six years has now been sold and scheduled to be demolished, and I’m gone from that place and in the new.

So, why the big writing hang up? Why no posts? What could have kept me from delivering my usual promised content?

Pretty simple, actually. I have no internet connection at the new place. The only connection I have to the digital world is via my phone, and as you can imagine that doesn’t really perform well for editing or posting writing guides.

Why no internet? Well, the previous occupant, despite living in a place and time where the internet is sort of a requirement for life, apparently never bothered to wire the place. So the number I keep getting from the provider is “60-90 days.”

Oh boy.

Now, to circumvent those who immediately postulate “Why don’t you just take your laptop to a library/coffee place and work there?” I don’t have a laptop. I write from a big, custom-built desktop that weighs about 30-35 pounds. I’m not hauling that to a coffee shop.

So for the foreseeable future, I’ll be writing all of my posts away from the embrace of the digital net, and uploading them via a public access computer at my local library when I get the chance.

Bogus? Most certainly. And definitely cramping the final alpha editing on Unusual Events as well, since the internet is kind of a cornerstone of being able to communicate with my alpha readers and editors in real time.

So wish me luck in convincing my neighbors to let me run a 100-ft Ethernet cable down to my new place. In the meantime, I’ll do my best to bring everything back to the usual schedule.

Leave a Reply

