Avengers: Age of Ultron First Thoughts

So, I’ve now seen Avengers: Age of Ultron. I had a great time. And although I don’t wish to do spoilers, and don’t plan on giving away anything, I am going to put my thoughts below the Read More tag. Why? Because I went into this movie pretty blind. And to be honest, the movie is pretty fun that way. I’m not a fan of spoilers, and I like being able to sit there and make my own little guesses about how the movie is going to go. Also, I like to have my own expectations, so if you don’t want to hear what I thought and have your expectations flavored, well, don’t click.

Seriously. Don’t click past this if you don’t want some thoughts before you see it.

Right. You clicked. So you must want  my thoughts. Well, here they are.

Avengers: Age of Ultron is good. High quality. Definitely worth seeing for this summer’s big hits.

Is it the best thing they’ve done so far?

Well. No.

That doesn’t mean it’s bad. It certainly isn’t. Do not get that impression. It’d be wrong. And that doesn’t mean it’s the worst of the Marvel franchise either. It’s certainly not. Marvel has set a high bar, and this movie definitely takes its place on the scale of fun. The action is frantic, the scenes complex—if you’re the kind of moviegoer who wants to see every detail of the special effects, you’re going to see this movie a couple of times, because there is some serious work put into the details. This film is alive when it’s in motion. There’s tense moments, funny moments, heroic moments, scary moments … the works. There’s even a lot of little fan-pleasing moments, one-shot events or scenes that had a number of the more comic-savvy viewers in the theater cheering.

So that’s all good.

So what’s wrong with it? Well, nothing, really. I’m fairly certain that looking back on it in the day to come, I’m going to assign Age of Ultron my own little score of “A-rank” (note: this score does not construe a review or rating of any kind other than in the personal mind of the author, so unless you dwell there, don’t use it as an official “review” declaration). I had a definite blast in the theater. If you were at all entertained by any of Marvel’s previous fare, then go. See! Enjoy. There’s nothing wrong here. It’s fun. It’s frantic. It’s a little dark. Ultron is a fun villain. The characters are still themselves, and there’s some delightful detail given to each one of them, from dialogue to world-building (there’s a lot of that, by the way, some of it so fast and subtle if you blink you’ll miss it, which I like). The plot is good, if straightforward—and to be honest most of that complaint can be laid at the feet of “this is a middle movie,” since we all know that everything here is just leading up to Infinity War and Marvel’s next “Phase.” But even if straightforward, it works, and there are some really good callbacks and establishing moments that are used later—and even some surprising ones. Avengers: Age of Ultron is fun.

It is not, however, quite as excellent as Guardians of the Galaxy, a movie that blasted away my expectations in every way.

But the difference between the two is a pretty fine line, and unless you’re going to sit and look at the gritty details, you’re probably not going to find much to complain about. If you’re the type that walked out of Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Thor: The Dark World,Iron Man 3, or The Avengers with a big happy grin on your face, or even just a satisfied smile, then you’ll be just fine going to see Age of Ultron.

Heck, I’m already thinking I’ll go see it again, if for anything just getting more of those amazing spectacle shots. There are some jaw-dropping moments in Ultron, and I’d like to see them again.

Also, Stan Lee is in it, and as usual, it’s hilarious. Which is not a spoiler, seriously. He’s in all the Marvel films. But yes, you’ll see him.

Avengers: Age of Ultron is a solid addition to the Marvel pantheon, and a great sign that they’re not dropping this ball anytime soon.

Now, if Guardians of the Galaxy 2 would just hurry up and come out …

EDIT: Yes, I’m not talking about the plot or ending. Go in blind, people!

Leave a Reply

